President’s Award

The American Academy of Couple and Family Psychology President’s Award is an annual award given to those board certified family psychologists who have made outstanding contributions to the field of family psychology, to the specialty of couple and family psychology and to the American Board of Professional Psychology. Recipients of the President’s Award include:


2016 Robert Geffner, Ph.D., ABN, ABPPBob Geffner

Robert Geffner, Ph.D., ABN, ABPP is a licensed Psychologist and Marriage & Family Therapist in California and a Licensed Psychologist in Texas. Dr. Geffner has trained mental health professionals, judges, attorneys, and others for more than 28 years. He is President and Founder of a nonprofit international resource and training center (the Family Violence & Sexual Assault Institute in Texas and now in California), the Founding President of the Institute on Violence, Abuse and Trauma, a Distinguished Research Professor of Psychology at Alliant International University in San Diego, and editor of five professional journals (including the Journal of Child Sexual Abuse, Journal of Family Violence, and the Journal of Child & Adolescent Trauma; he is also in the process of becoming the editor of the Journal of Child Custody). He has a Diplomate in Clinical Neuropsychology from the American Board of Professional Neuropsychology, and is Board Certified in Couple and Family Psychology from the American Board of Professional Psychology. Dr. Geffner is a past president of the American Psychological Association Division of Trauma Psychology, and he is currently co-chair of the National Partnership to End Interpersonal Violence Across the Lifespan (NPEIV) and past president of the American Academy of Couple & Family Psychology.

He was given the distinguished psychologist award, co-provided by American Academy of Couple & Family Psychology & from the Couple and Family Psychology of the American Board of Professional Psychology, for his outstanding and tireless contributions to the mission and implementation steps of both sister organizations.

2009 John Northman Ph.D. ABPP

John Northman, Ph.D, ABPP

Florence Kaslow, Ph.D., ABPP 2006 Florence Kaslow Ph.D. ABPP